Skip to content
September 11, 2013 / BTM

Why We Moved Beyond Teachable Moments To Train Our Kids

Just over a year ago, my husband and I were rehashing a perennial topic.

He was concerned that we were not taking advantage of our narrow window of time to train up our 5 and 7 year-olds in their Christian faith.  I felt that I was doing a lot of faith training through seizing ‘teachable moments’.  My defense: that very day I had spoken to the boys about abortion and covered a number of the reasons for the pro-life position and how they juxtaposed against a pro-abortion position.  It was a news item on the way to school that had triggered this discussion.

Not bad, right?

However, I had to ask myself, how often did conversations like this happen?  It seemed to me like they were often enough.  Then my husband and I brainstormed the list of topics that we wanted to cover with the boys while they were still under our roof – topics that we felt they needed to be effective and winsome Christians to their generation.

It was then that I began to realize the problem: our list was long – really long.  On top of that, some of the topics would be complicated.

That was when I started to search for a more proactive way to train our kids, starting now.  I began to look for fun, interactive activities that I could do in under half an hour that did not require a lot of preparation by me.

Our journey has been fun, frustrating, challenging and surprising.

I started this blog as a means to share what we’ve been doing with others.  I’ll be reviewing resources I’ve used and posting activities we’ve created ourselves on different topics.  You are welcome to use them, alter them, and make them work for your family.  We have boys, so our activities have a slant, we fully acknowledge that!  Make them work for your kids and please let us know what you did and how it worked.

This is also an invitation to share how you have been training up your kids in the Christian faith with me!  I am always looking for more resources and like-minded parents.

Let’s be intentional together.  Let’s share our ideas.  Let’s spur each other on.  I hope you’ll journey with us!

BTM

Leave a Reply

