Skip to content
June 12, 2015 / BTM

Easy Summer Ideas

Ah … summer…

Wait!  No, no, no – not time to relax and take a break from parenting – at least not entirely.  This is your golden opportunity to instill faith lessons into your children’s lives.  Don’t miss it!

For the past four summers, we’ve been gearing up with ideas to help move our kids’ learning and understanding about Christianity further along.  I try to do a lesson every weekday of the summer (give or take), but also try my best to make the lessons short (15-20 minutes right after breakfast) and (hopefully) memorable.

I’ve mentioned before that if you have children under 10, focus more on facts with them.  There are a bunch of resources on this blog site to support you with this.

Once your kids reach 10, they are likely ready to learn logic and critical thinking.  You should capitalize on their natural (or perhaps sometimes annoying) interest in this.

This year, instead of spending a lot of time planning lessons of my own, our kids are finally old enough to take advantage of some of the ready made resources out there.  Here are a few that we’ll be trying this summer.

untitled

 

The Defense Never Rests (William Lane Craig and Joseph Tang) is kind of like a child’s version of On Guard (also by William Lane Craig).  I note that the authors of The Defense Never Rests book suggest that you can most effectively use it if you are familiar with the material in On Guard (although this is obviously not mandatory).  The book covers some interesting and sophisticated ground: God and evidence; the Kalam cosmological argument; the design argument; the moral argument; the ontological argument; the trinity; the providence of God; the incarnation; the atonement; and the resurrection of Jesus.  If these topics are completely unfamiliar to you, start with my simpler explanations in the Finding the Fingerprints of God series of posts.

The Defense Never Rests is a bit more ‘workbook-style’ learning that I like – come on, it is summer after all!  So, I intend to animate it a bit in order to liven it up.  I’ll likely use impersonations, mock interviews, illustrative stories, bits from pop culture, and hands-on wall diagrams like I’ve used in most of my series in the past (look at the pictures I’ve posted) to teach or reinforce the ideas.

 

fallacy

The second book that I’m looking forward to trying is The Fallacy Detective: Thirty-Eight Lessons on How to Recognize Bad Reasoning (Nathaniel Bluedorn nad Hans Bluedorn).  This is intended to be a homeschooler’s resource and has great ratings.  I’ve heard that it is intended for a slightly older audience than our children (ages 12 and up), but that kids like ours can understand the material when the terms are simplified.

This book covers a lot of different errors in logic that people make all the time (far too many to list here, check out the table of contents on amazon by clicking the picture above).  Kids can learn why these errors are faulty and how to spot them in real life.  Again, if these ideas are new to you, check out my simpler posts under ‘Critical Thinking’.

Have you ever used one of these resources with your children?  Do you have any suggestions for me on how you used them?  I’d love to hear from you!

More summer ideas in my next post…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennifer & David Spears / Jun 13 2015 9:47 am

    I just ordered three of Lee Strobel’s “The case for….” books for kids. I loved the adult versions of these books and a friend loaned us “The case for a creator for kids” which my daughter is reading and loves! “The case for Christ” and “The case for Faith” look equally excellent. I don’t know what age they are recommended for but they seem perfect for my 9 year old.

    • BTM / Jun 16 2015 8:20 am

      I love these books too and will be doing a post on them soon!

Leave a Reply

